Help

Substitute Teachers

More pay for long term jobs?

>

Shadygap

More pay for long term jobs?
Old 09-06-2019, 04:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What do you get paid for long term job? If you are a certified teacher?
I read the thread about the day to day sub pay. Here in PA most subs are certified teachers. The only ones that aren't are those with college degrees and took training through the IU to get certified as guest teachers to substitute.
Regular sub pay in a few of lowest rural areas is $85 a day. Then it goes up from there depending the wealth of the district. You can get plenty of work. Big shortage of subs. I'm a retired teacher in a rural area. One district pays $175 a day for a long term sub job because you are the actual teacher doing everything but a couple of the districts still just pay the same $85 for doing all the work - lesson planning, grading tests, homework etc and they wonder why they can't get anyone? What about your area? For certified teachers?

Shadygap is offline   Reply With Quote

Fractured

Old 09-06-2019, 05:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

185 is close to what one district pays for certified here. Another is 200, but you earn it. If you do like 10 days at the same job you get a pathetic 20 dollar increase. I can’t believe the pay is so low some places. One district pays 140 and I just don’t bother.

Last edited by Fractured; 09-06-2019 at 06:53 PM..
Fractured is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 09-06-2019, 05:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Our long term pay goes up + one hour a day after 5 days of a long term sub. Anywhere from 10 to 18 an hour. 10 for EA, 15 for subs with bachelor's, and 18 for retired teachers.
kahluablast is offline   Reply With Quote

mrsd5

Old 09-06-2019, 06:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

$90 a day for the first 15 days, then $125 a day retroactive to day one. If you call in sick, it reverts back. Iíve been told they will accept a doctorís note, though.
mrsd5 is offline   Reply With Quote

BadKitty