Help

Substitute Teachers

Subbing Tips?

>

Cat_Lady

Subbing Tips?
Old 04-23-2019, 05:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm about to start substitute teaching and I'm a bit nervous because I don't know what to expect. I've never worked in a school setting before but I want to focus on elementary school because I love working with kids. After I get some experience I might take some jobs in middle school or high school.
Any tips for me?

Cat_Lady is offline   Reply With Quote

SubMan

Old 04-23-2019, 08:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Here are mine.

1. Arrive early so you can go over the lesson plans and find where important things are; lunch room, teacher rest room, location of specials classroom.

2. Read over the lesson plans and high-light important things.

3. Locate the "grab and go" bag for fire drills and evacuations.

4. If you get a key to the room, keep it in a safe place like a pocket or ID lanyard.

5. Keep the door locked but open in the event of a lock down drill you can just pull the door shut.

6. Write your name on the board, beats being called "hey teacher" all day.

7. Keep your ears open and don't tell stories. I once heard some teachers say "I wonder what she says about us" after a sub left the room; sub was complaining about how she was treated in another district.

8. Realize that you're going to be tested by the students, while you can't control this you can control how you react, don't forget you are the adult in the room. I have many "just for today" rules for such occasions.

9. Introduce yourself to the other teachers near you, in case you need help they will already know who you are (as opposed to a random stranger).

10. At some point expect a visit from the principal(s).

11. For most students positive praise works better than yelling and screaming (and less work for you too). Notes on post-it notes work well too, I know several students who have kept the positive notes I've passed out in their notebooks.

Hope these help.