High School

Classroom Management

>

Mrs.Stressed

Mrs.Stressed

Classroom Management
Old 05-06-2019, 11:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching. As a science teacher, I really like to keep my class hands-on and engaging, but I struggle to manage a classroom when the kids are bouncing off the walls. I am not really supported by my administration, so classroom management has to happen in class. There is no "go to the principle's office" at this school, because this principle doesn't discipline or even give a stern lecture. I feel so powerless when the kids entirely disregard me. I have already tried assigned seating - they crumbled up the post-it notes I used and threw them away. I tried group work - nothing gets accomplished. I tried assigning less homework and doing it in class, and we just don't accomplish what we need to because I'm constantly having to get on to kids for getting up out of their desks.

I don't want to be the grouchy teacher! I love teaching and I love these kids, but the classroom management thing is really getting to me. Please help!

geoteacher8

Let me get this straight.
Old 05-06-2019, 03:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

They crumpled up the seating chart notes? You need to curtail the more fun hands-on activities until the students are ready to behave. Make things individual until they demonstrate that they are ready to listen to you and stay in their seats. This also sound like a class where you need to be constantly circulating to maintain control.
geoteacher8 is offline   Reply With Quote

IcyPeppermint

High School
Old 05-10-2019, 07:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3