Help

Kindergarten

help with transitions!

>

jcm

help with transitions!
Old 05-15-2019, 05:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My students are very loud and get silly during transitions. I am getting very frustrated! I am a veteran teacher and all my "tricks" haven't worked with this tough group! Any good suggestions or routines that help your classroom run smoothly?

jcm is offline   Reply With Quote

Zia

Old 05-15-2019, 03:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I start out the year by giving a "glitter grape" to every kid who is on task. They quickly figure out why the kid next to them got a treat and s/he didn't, and adjust accordingly. I then do it intermittently, so they don't know if they HAVE to be on task or not and stay on task JUST IN CASE I'm rewarding. It works.

Glitter grapes are just grapes I wash, cut in half, sprinkle with sugar free Jello powder, and then freeze on a jelly roll pan. I have to do something different for kids who can't have Jello.
Zia is offline   Reply With Quote

Sbkangas5

Old 05-15-2019, 04:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I know it's not the "right" thing to do, but at this point in the year I'm never above bribery.

I do have some individual and whole class incentives/rewards I use when we have things that need a lot of work. I wean them off of it as the year goes on, but I always find that in the spring it's useful to pull them out again.
Sbkangas5 is offline   Reply With Quote

Munchkins

ClassDojo.com
Old 05-15-2019, 05:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I had to resort to using this online behavior program with my tough group, and I have to admit, it works beautifully. I keep the screen on a tab behind another one, https://classroomscreen.com/.