Substitute Teachers

Oh, what a first day it was!!!

>

SW@<3

SW@<3

Oh, what a first day it was!!!
Old 05-21-2019, 03:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a degree in social work and thought about substituting before the summer ends for a little bit of extra cash and experience. I decided to pick up a kindergaten class and it was an absolute nightmare. The parapro and the teachers plan was extremely helpful, but I felt like this class was beyond horrible. A lot of the teachers watched and starred and seemed to be judging, but not willing to help. The parapro was able to give me a lot of good advice, but was only with me for portions of the day. The helper kept coming and going, before being pulled to sub and leaving for good. The teacher left extra recess time within the day (which may have hurt with keeping the kids listening and engaged). The students were cursing at one another, not listening or following directions, and I felt like I spent the whole day yelling Mrs. X class, please use inside voices or lower levels. Also, trying to gain control, because the class was constantly getting out of control. (Kids making paper airplanes with their work, stealing snacks, running out of the classroom and down the hall with no answer from the front office, etc.) I am not sure how a first day was suppose to go, but I am scarred from wanting to substitute for another class. I think I might not go back, because in level K was this bad, how horrible will students be when they get older? Does it ever get better?

elepen

Old 05-21-2019, 04:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I won’t intentionally sub for K ( Kindergarten Cop) lol or 5th unless I know the class and the teacher
Kinders are cute from a distance or a short time in the room
Hugs. Try other grades 2nd or 3rd
elepen is offline   Reply With Quote

Subtastic

Old 05-21-2019, 06:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

This is why I never sub K-3. You can't reason with them. Try a higher grade next time.