Special Education

behavior problems with special ed students

>

molliemarie

molliemarie

behavior problems with special ed students
Old 01-27-2006, 02:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am in need of some desperate help and advice. I have been teaching students in special ed for two years now (my first teaching job ever). I teach k-12 life skills for more of the severe students. The have two students right now that I am having major behavior problems with. One has autism and the other is down syndrome both in 6th grade but really low functioning. They are both spitting. At anytime you tell them to do something and they don't want to do it they will spit in your face, at me, my para, who ever it is. I have tried all the discipline that I can thank of and nothing is working. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions?

Tiffany74

Also in need of help!
Old 01-30-2006, 03:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have a 6th grader who is constantly defying me, talking back, singing during class, etc. I have emailed mom almost daily and it sounds like she is at her wits end with her too! (Parents are going through a divorce). She is not terribly low ability wise (probably shouldn't be on an IEP but we have very loose qualification standards). My thought is maybe she needs to be challenged but when I give her that work she doesn't know how to do it.

I have tried giving her points and redeeming them, talking to her about her behavior (daily), but nothing is working. Any thoughts???
Tiffany74 is offline   Reply With Quote
soniat

soniat

spitting doesn't go away with discipline...
Old 01-30-2006, 06:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

i've worked with kids who spit for five years now, and i've learned the hard way that having a specific disciplinary reaction for spitting--ANY reaction--just doesn't work. It's such a deviant behavior that we can't help but respond emotionally, and our response itself is reinforcing ("Wow--I made the teacher turn purple/jump back/yell...")