Special Education

Qualifications for Diagnosing

>

maryal

maryal

Qualifications for Diagnosing
Old 03-03-2006, 07:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a 1st-year teacher working in a small school in Eastern Europe. I'm the only teacher with a special-ed. degree, and some colleagues have indicated interest in having me help diagnose a few students.

I studied many various forms of assessment (e.g. Vineland) in college, but I'm a bit confused as to how many of those tests I am actually qualified to give (vs. simply understanding them to interpret the scores for IEP purposes).

For disabilities such as MR, is a special-educator able to administer all the tests, or are the services of a psychologist and/or special-educator with extra training required?

Thank you for your help!

maj

'diagnosing' kids
Old 03-04-2006, 12:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi. You really should just be understanding the tests for IEP purposes, as you said. In every school that I'm aware of, a professional that has attended graduate classes to learn to administer tests is the person that does so- in my area, they're the school psychologist or learning consultant or similar title. Special ed. teachers may administer screening tests, both to identify kids that might need more formal testing to qualify for an IEP, or to document the progress that kids with IEPs are making towards their short-term and long-term goals. We don't, though, administer the 'big' tests. Even the people that can administer those tests aren't necessarily allowed to 'diagnose' some disorders (Asperger's, OCD, NLD, bipolar, autism, CAPD, etc.); these must be officially diagnosed by a neurologist, psychologist, or other similar professional.