The VENT

15 minute demo lesson 7th grade math ideas

>

bteach99

15 minute demo lesson 7th grade math ideas
Old 06-11-2019, 06:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Teachers:

I need to do the above demo lesson, and i am terrified. Does anyone have any ideas?

Should i get involved with the smart board, or could i just do something quick with paper ? i will have access to a copier but i am just so nervous.........

I need a job desperately.

I need to do something in 7th grade math. PLEASE HELP! i hate demo lessons.

bteach99 is offline   Reply With Quote

Teacherbee_4

Demo lessons...
Old 06-11-2019, 09:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have never done a demo lesson before, but I know I would hate them just hearing about them. I'll save my reasoning for why I think I'd hate them since that's not the topic of the post.

Have you looked into Jo Boaler? Her website, youcubed may have some awesome ideas, especially with the growth mindset in math. The week of inspirational math is great for all learners and be be easily differentiated by ability. They don't necessarily address a new concept, but they teach about growth mindset and integrate a lot of the mathematical practice standards while using math content. My students love these! They are longer than 15 minutes, but maybe you could find a part of a lesson to do. Her website also has different problem solving tasks, as well.

You could find other performance tasks/problem solving tasks online as well for kids to work through.

Maybe a game of some sort?