The VENT

Switching to SPED

>

spunky7

Switching to SPED
Old 06-17-2019, 04:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi All!
Like many of you, I am really struggling to find a job as a general education teacher. I graduated with my masters in 2016 and was able to get a job in a very rural school district the next year. Then I moved and I now live in the biggest city in my state. It has proven to be very competitive and after 15+ applications, I havenít even gotten an interview.

For the last 2 years, I have been working in a special needs school and I love it. I am the head Ed Tech and take the teacherís place when they are out. Unfortunately, pay is low and Iíd like to get my sped certification. Has anyone done this and was it very difficult? I know sped us one of the shortage areas so Iíd like to make myself more valuable!

According to my state website, I only need about 7 classes but itís all very confusing. For those of you that switched:

Did you have to student teach again?
Did you take a degree program or just take classes?
How long did it take you to complete?

I do plan to contact my state personally, but I thought Iíd check in here to get some feedback too. Thanks for taking the time to read and for any help!

spunky7 is offline   Reply With Quote

checkerjane

Old 06-17-2019, 04:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Iím in Oklahoma and have a degree I elem ed. I just had to take a certification test.
checkerjane is offline   Reply With Quote

jov

Old 06-17-2019, 05:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Definitely check your state requirements. I found mine online. To add a sped license to an elementary one, my state requires a license test and a practicum.
jov is offline   Reply With Quote

Kinderkr4zy

Old 06-17-2019, 08:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

This is actually super different from place to place so I would start with you state DOE. I know that its different because I have had the same thought and looked into it as bit around here.