Special Education

Paras and others

>

aut_teach

aut_teach

Paras and others
Old 11-28-2007, 10:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a question for all of you special ed teachers out there. I have 9 adults in my classroom other than me. I have a class of 10 full and part time children all diagnosed somewhere on the autism spectrum. Some of the adults are TSS from various agencies, 1 is a classroom assistant and 2 of them are 1:1 paras from my district. Several children have 2 adults with them all day. It is absolutely insane how many people are with us. Is anyone else in this situation and how do you manage all of the adults in the classroom? Is there some sort of training? Do you train them to do certain things? This is my first year in this situation.

Thanks!

SCYSR

and I thought...
Old 11-28-2007, 04:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

WoW!! And I thought I had it hard! I'm in a self contained class with 10 kids, myself, the classroom para, and 4 1:1 paras- a total of 6 adults and my students are not Autistic!!!!! I find that the adults make things chaotic even if they don't have to be. I was getting frustrated that the kids weren't behaving becuase there was too much going on. I did a couple of things (it's my first year also, but there's been much trial and error since the beginning).
1. Take the weakest para and have her do jobs- give her certain jobs to do every day, i.e. get the water from the closet, stack the chairs, straighten the library, etc. This gets her out of the way!
2. Set things in stone- I'm not a mean teacher, others say I'm too nice to my paras, but one thing is clear- when I'm teaching, no one else, and really no one else is allowed to even whisper! I give them each a small drawer and have them put all personal belongings there as well...