Special Education

Needing some encouragement

>

Spectchr

Spectchr

Needing some encouragement
Old 12-04-2007, 04:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am really struggling with my job today. I am feeling so overwhelmed and feel like I can't do everything. Here's a brief overview; tell me if I am just overexaggerating for nothing. I am a Resource teacher who splits their time between two schools. I have a total of 21 students but am testing 6 more. We as special education teachers have to test all new referrals and those up for re-evaluation so I have to use my only 30 minute chunk in the day to test. I am at my one school for only about an hour and a half and see 8 students ranging in age from 3rd grade to 7th grade with varying disabilities. At my other school I see the remaining students, co-teach 2 days a week, handle all of the testing and scheduling of meetings and serve on several committees. I do not receive any para support at all so when I have students of different needs I have to provide something for one group to do while I am working with another one-on-one. Is anyone else in a similar situation or do I need a lesson in managing my time? How does everyone keep up with all of their paperwork, find time to plan, communicate with parents, and help the students? Thanks for any advice! I am in my 3rd year of teaching, I remember feeling this way the last 2 years but thought it would be easier this year.

newspedteach

Oh my gosh
Old 12-04-2007, 08:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

NO WONDER you are overwhelmed and feel like you can't get anything done!!