Help

New Teachers

Please help me!

>

Brightside925

Please help me!
Old 01-10-2012, 06:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone! I am a first year teacher, however I am NOT in a public school. With how the job market is, I accepted a position in an early childhood center as a Kindergarten teacher last minute after the previous teacher stopped showing up after a week. I am NOT under contract and have been told if I choose to leave to give two weeks notice. It is a very complicated schedule. I have 8 children in the morning, then 5 go to public school for half day kindergarten, then they come back for the afternoon. It is very difficult to design curriculum around this and it is not concurrent with the public schools. I cannot make it flow better with the public school because I have a completely different curriculum program. I have also found adapting curriculum to 3 children to be challenging. I much prefer when I have the group of 8 in the afternoon so I can do small group work.

I have children who receive special education services at the public school, but I do not get any support. I have a child who has a 1-to-1 aid at school, and I am alone with him and the rest of my class. I have struggled for four months, but I have not gotten a lot of support from my superiors.
They treat my room like a daycare and send it preschoolers half way through the day to stay in ratio. This totally disrupts my classroom because I cannot get these younger children to participate in lessons beyond their skill set and my students get aggravated when they have to learn while others are being disruptive. This matter has been discussed, but management does not care.

I have been harassed by my boss about having jury duty. It was said to me that I will hopefully have a job when I get back and although I am doing a good job I am easily replaceable.