Help

The VENT

Co-Teaching Help!!!

>

smeag

Co-Teaching Help!!!
Old 02-26-2018, 06:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I work in an all-day inclusion room. I am the regular education teacher, and I co-teach with a special education teacher. We are both in the classroom at all times and share the room. This is my first year at this school, teaching first grade, and she recently changed grade levels, so this has been new for both of us. She made it clear to me before school started that she did not want to feel like she was only in charge of the SPED students, and didn't want to feel like an assistant to the rest of the class. I agreed that I did not want her to feel this way, and so we made a plan to co-teach. We split subjects up to take the lead on when planning, we made it clear at the beginning of the year that our classroom had two teachers, so there was no split in the class. We started off the year with A LOT of behavior problems in he class. We have 18 students, 6 which now have an IEP. There are different behavior charts, plans of action put into place (for any chair or other object throwing that occurs), and it's a lot to keep up with, but we try our best. I feel that my co-teacher is very unhappy with the grade level move and going back to being a SPED teacher instead of being the only teacher in the classroom. With everything happening in our room this year, she began to feel that she was just a 1-1 to those students or an assistant. I tried to compromise with her and support her, and support those students more while trying to juggle the rest of the class, though I am not SPED certified and feel like I don't know what I'm doing most of the time. However, she constantly tells me still that she doesn't feel included, or that she never knows what is going on when I am teaching a subject (even though I write my lessons way in advance with detail and we go over them the week before). I feel that I'm constantly being attacked for my teaching style, and any decisio