Future Teachers

Should I Teach/Crazy Workload?

>

Liz7627

Should I Teach/Crazy Workload?
Old 07-26-2018, 08:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hey everyone,

So I'm a currently a student who is going for my bachelor's in English (ik bad idea haha) but I would love to go for my masters in special education and get certified in MA. The problem is, I keep hearing all of these horror stories about teaching. I don't mind the crazy kids or the below average pay but I'm worried about the work load associated with teaching. I've read online that some teachers work 60+ hour weeks. They say that the amount of grading/IEPs/lesson planning consumes thier while life. While that's okay, one of the reasons I chose teaching was because it would be a 9-5 job and it would be a great job for when/if I have kids. I know the first year of teaching will be a lot (trying to form a curriculum) but is it always this bad? I'm afraid I'll burn out quickly. **Side note, my mom is a special education high school teacher in MA (what and where I want to teach) and she says she loves it and she dosent bring home crazy amounts of work. What have your experience been? Especially for teachers in MA? Thank you

Liz7627 is offline   Reply With Quote

JULIEBEAN290

JULIEBEAN290

Teaching Pros/Cons
Old 07-27-2018, 09:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2