Help

Special Education

Lesson Plans?

>

htimsrs3

Lesson Plans?
Old 08-30-2008, 07:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been a special education teacher for 4 years and love it (except all the paperwork). I did inclusion all that time and now I have been moved to Special Ed Self Contained classroom this year. I have 2 down's 5 year olds and 2-4th graders that are at a 1-2nd grade level, a MR pre-ker and 1-1st grader that has seizers. How would you do a lesson plan for this? I have the SEs listed and all but I am not sure how to put it all on paper.

htimsrs3 is offline   Reply With Quote

whatever

I have a similar situation
Old 08-30-2008, 07:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

in my school. I keep a plan book going and try to at least sketch out a basic plan and know what books, manipulatives, and copies I might need several days in advance. I set up my lessons using several different factors, generally using a basic skeleton of the scope and sequence for first grade level as that is where most of my students are at academically. Then I factor in the individual student IEP goals, the objectives I hope to cover, and even some topics the general ed teachers are covering.

That said, however, my plan book is kind of a combination of the lesson objectives I hope to cover and a journal of things actually covered. I don't generally plan with a lot of details unless I am covering something new or something old in a new way. I leave a lot of room for review and a second or third go at new things. I also try to leave some wiggle room for teachable moments.

I set it up where I do a lot of small group lessons were appropriate and as much 1:1 or 1:2 as I can.

My biggest complaint about SpEd is that a lot of it is 'catch as catch can' with whatever supplies, resources, etc. we can scratch up. Good luck and God Bless.
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

heart4sped

never the same
Old 08-30-2008, 08:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3