Help

Special Education

Schedules for paras

>

kathie8572

Schedules for paras
Old 07-08-2009, 02:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to doing self contained cross cat room (K-3). I have always done resource with no paras. I will have 2 Kinders in diapers, 6-2nd graders and 2-3rd graders. They are CP, MOMR, Autistic, etc. I will have 4 paras.

Can anyone give me a sample schedule of what the paras do and how to handle them. Three of the paras been at the school for some years and one will be new.

Any suggestions would be great!

Thanks!

kathie8572 is offline   Reply With Quote

newspedteach

Hi Kathie
Old 07-08-2009, 04:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

no samples of anything other than a schedule here, but I learned the hard way that I need to spell out even the simplest duties and 'rules and regs' for my room. I am a pretty organized person and pretty much wrote schedules that accounted for every minute of their time (giving them some 'down time' to document, etc.) but I found that they had trouble with even a little unaccounted for time.

After 2 yrs. of working with a passive aggressive aide who wreaked havoc on my room and program (I'm a K-4 'resource room' sped teacher) I've decided to write a brief 'handbook' this summer for my remaining aide and the 'new' aide who will join me (the principal agreed with me about removing the one aide from my classroom).