Help

Special Education

Special Ed Certification Test

>

dhteach

Special Ed Certification Test
Old 07-24-2009, 06:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi, I'm wondering if anyone has taken the special ed certification test in Texas (#161)? I was told it would make me more "marketable" if I had that and the ESL test. I graduated in May and do not have a job as of yet. I really need some help with studying for the test. I bought a study guide (Xamonline) but it doesn't seem to have enough information. I found several study guides that can be downloaded but I'm not sure how good they are and they're expensive! Any tips, study guides, or info you have will be appreciated Thanks!

dhteach is offline   Reply With Quote

whatever

I'm not in TX so take it for what it is
Old 07-24-2009, 07:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

worth here BUT I would not take the test unless you are willing and able to teach it as well. Our contracts here state that the district can place us in any position for which we are qualified.

I have heard many, many stories from SpEd teachers who say they NEVER wanted SpEd classes (just the additional knowledge and certification). They were placed there when the school got desperate or took it thinking it would be a way to get their foot in the door.
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

mreinelt

TX EXIT Test
Old 07-24-2009, 08:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am in TX and a Sp Ed teacher....Took the test many moons ago...It was easy for me because I was trained and had worked in Special ed...For others trained in TX I hear it is hard and many don't pass on the first time....Personally, if you really want to teach special ed go to your local region education center and take their course for the exit test... However, presently everyone is looking for Math teachers at every level...Good luck. August is the time when everyone is scrambling for new teachers...Good luck
mreinelt is offline   Reply With Quote

Laura

We need classes AND test
Old 07-25-2009, 09:16 AM