Special Education

Ideas

>

expertteacher

Ideas
Old 07-16-2014, 10:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello Everyone,

Next year I will serve as a SPED instructional facilitator. I will go to 5 (PreK - 12)schools in our district supporting mostly sped teachers with instruction, assessment, IEP writing, BIPs, and whatever else they need. As a teacher, I barely used my facilitator after the first couple of years and when I did it was to ask questions about things I didn't know or students I was having problems with. I think in part because I didn't know what they could help me with. My desire is to really support teachers and take some of the stress off their plates.

I want to get a letter together letting them know what types of things I would love to help them with. I already created an attendance matrix for them for the entire year that I will share. I also want to create a website of resources they can easily refer too. Example of things I want to help with include: teaching a social skills/behavior group, assessing students, finding resources, reviewing skills for IEP goals.

What are some things you would like help with if you had support from someone willing and capable? Give me as many ideas as you can. I go to each school at least once a week and I want to make my time there count and not just sit in a room waiting for problems to crop up that need my immediate attention. Also, I don't want to lose my connection to the classroom.

I appreciate any ideas or suggestions you have. If you think my offering these services may offend someone, please let me know. Sometimes I get so gung-ho on things I forget how others may perceive my desire.

expertteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

readandweep

Job sounds awesome
Old 07-17-2014, 05:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

What an amazing job. I wish we had something formal like that where I work!