Help

Special Education

The need for mastery of Math Facts in HS

>

jmills

The need for mastery of Math Facts in HS
Old 05-27-2015, 05:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Where do you stand on the need for Sp Ed high school students mastering their basic facts (add, sub, multi) up to 10? Versus taking the stand they are never going to get this so lets move on. (not including severe and profound students)

jmills is offline   Reply With Quote

whatever

I can see both sides
Old 05-27-2015, 06:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It would be nice if it happens and is very handy as a life skill and great exercise for the brain. However, we can't let it bring us to a standstill and keep us from learning higher level computations.

I was a teacher in middle school and elementary and a para in high school. We tried to emphasize both. We also used math charts for basic computations and let them use the calculator for individual steps before letting them use the calculator for full problems.
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

jmills

Old 05-27-2015, 06:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

So they do not master basic facts and we move on. They can't do multiple digit multiplication since they don't know their facts. They can't do simple division since they don't know their facts. Not knowing their facts unables them to grasp and understand how number relate. Measurement involves fractions, fractions involve multiplication and division, but since they don't know their facts they struggle to get past the facts calculations to understand fractions. Most any math past the basic facts is a multi step process.

Move on because they are never going to master their facts. But yet one thinks they will be able to master the next thing which is even more difficult.

They have no problem remembering their passwords and email addresses. They remember phone numbers and things they need to do.