Special Education

need help... extremely impulsive

>

1st forever

1st forever

need help... extremely impulsive
Old 09-06-2007, 03:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a regular ed teacher in a co-teaching 1st grade. I have done this for 4 years and gained many strategies for impulsiveness. However this is the worse I have ever seen.

It is only the second day of school but this child can not sit or stand still. He is very oral (everything is in his mouth....even his desk). He is jumping around the room. He is touching everything. I could go on and on. I truly believe he can not help it and this is more than hyper and impulsive.

I have tried a stress ball to squeeze to occupy his hands. It was thrown across the room too many times. I tried another cube shape that couldn't roll but he broke it into 8 pieces. I decided that wouldn't work. It did occupy his hands but also caused too man other problems. He took another one from my desk without me knowing it and began to eat it like an apple chewing and spitting out the pieces.

I've had him do jobs to keep him moving and occupied while giving him a break.

I am not sure how to get a better handle on this right away. My co-teacher and I a re a new pair so she is thinking right now also.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Please don't think I am harsh in describing him. I just want to do what is right to help him function better. Oh yeah, he does not have an IEP. He was placed into the c-teaching team since they saw the same things in K. Our job to to create interventions and try different things before heading to an eval to see if things work for him.

Speced9

Old 09-06-2007, 05:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Even though this is hard, you probably need to determine how much of his behavior is for attention, and not affecting the other children. Those behaviors need to be ignored while positive behaviors rewarded. I'd be interested in knowing how much of his behavior is for the attention he receives for doing it.