Do resource (pull-out) classes still exist where you are? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Special Education

Do resource (pull-out) classes still exist where you are?

>

Haley23

Do resource (pull-out) classes still exist where you are?
Old 01-08-2017, 12:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

When I was in college I did field placements in many, many schools and all of them were "full inclusion" for mild/moderate students. I hate "co-teaching." I feel like a glorified para. Most of the schools in my home state were actually set up well for it (one sped teacher per grade level or maybe 2 grade levels), and even then the sped teacher was always acting as an aide. After I graduated I vowed to only do gen ed because I wanted to be the teacher! Unfortunately that didn't work out and I could only find a SPED position, but I was thrilled to see that my current state still has resource. I like doing my small groups all day. Unfortunately, "full inclusion" is catching on here. Many districts have already started doing push-in instead of pull-out and my district leadership is really pushing hard for it. My principal and assistant principal have been very supportive of me continuing to teach my pull-out classes; they agree that push-in is not a good use of my skills. However, I just found out that my P is leaving and I have a hunch that AP will not stay either, so I will have no choice but to do services the way the district wants.