Help

The VENT

Whatís wrong with me?

>

NewCAteacher

Whatís wrong with me?
Old 01-25-2018, 10:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach self-contained special ed and the vast majority of the time, I enjoy what I do. But, Iím never able to fully relax on weekends, breaks, or sick days. I donít take work home, and I donít worry about the upcoming days or weeks. Instead, I constantly have intrusive thoughts about all the mistakes I may have made during the week, things I may have said that sounded dumb or whiny, or who in my district thinks I suck as a teacher. What is this? Anyone have advice?

NewCAteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

SpedinTx

Old 01-25-2018, 01:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My first year as a special education teacher, my wonderful principal told me on the first day of school to just relax because anything you teach the students is something they didn't know. It's not about keeping up with the other teachers its about the kids and watching them progress. Celebrate the very small victories. When one of my students yelled out a cuss word in the hall way, another teacher asked me why I was smiling. My answer, "He's finally saying something in his own defense".
SpedinTx is offline   Reply With Quote

Mikhail

overanxious thoughts racing
Old 01-25-2018, 02:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

What do u do to unwind? Some people I know take yoga, others keep active while others are under meds or do a combination of things on a temporary basis. I don't think it's a good sign if you can't find you zen.
Mikhail is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 01-25-2018, 02:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I have that problem too and social media (Pinterest and FB doesnít help). No advice just sympathy.
GreyhoundGirl is online now   Reply With Quote

anna

Old 01-25-2018, 06:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5