Career Decisions

leaving education?

>

readerforlif

readerforlif

leaving education?
Old 06-07-2016, 05:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am not sure what help I am looking for from this post, maybe just it's ok, or go for it, or not.

Some back story...
When I first graduated from college, I worked in a nonprofit, left the career to teach. I enjoy teaching, and have been told I am a good teacher.

I am in my late thirties, just earned my masters (so 35000 in debt) and single. I know this sounds crazy, but I hadn't really investigated the earning potential of teachers, even at the end of their 20 year career. After doing lots of research, I have sadly discovered that my earning potential will probably cap out at 60000 to 65000. I know this is not a bad salary, but I am single and have to think of saving for my retirement and I want to purchase a home.

So here is my issue... I have looked into becoming a CPA. It will take me about a year, possibly two, depending on which school I go to to earn my Masters in accounting. I have discovered the median income for a CPA in my area is about 63000, with five years experience.

I just don't know what to do. I am conflicted, and probably scared too.

Does anyone know where most teachers who leave the field go to?

Have you had similar thoughts about leaving? If so , what did you decide and how did you make that decision?

Thank you for allowing me to share!

K12ESLteacher

Don't fret!
Old 06-08-2016, 04:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2