Career Decisions

I know this sounds bad but...

>

Guest 8890

Guest 8890

I know this sounds bad but...
Old 05-25-2020, 05:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, I just need to tell this to anyone who will read it!

I am not sure if I want to go back to teaching in the fall. I am a first year teacher and the stress was unbelievable. The Sunday night dread and worries have vanished. School discipline was not very effective and problematic behavior was the norm at school. Inattentive parents that wouldn't return phone calls or hold their children accountable for misbehavior and the daily stress of begging and pleading with students to complete work and trying to manage bad behavior was sheer exhaustion.

I don't have to worry about the cliques and low morale and being ignored and treated like an outsider and being totally uncomfortable all the time. Teachers skipping over seats to avoid sitting by me or talking to me. Teachers turning their backs on me so I wouldn't or couldn't participate in conversations. Teachers giving me information at the last minute or the cold shoulder. It wasn't every teacher but the saying "strength in numbers" is true. Work environments with adult bullies still exist. I spent many days and sleepless nights trying to figure out why this was happening to me. I didn't tell anyone what was happening because some of them have worked together for years and alliances and favoritism does exist so I didn't know whom I could trust.