Help

Career Decisions

Should I take any position?

>

sterlingsun

Should I take any position?
Old 06-09-2020, 07:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Currently applying to schools. I have had 4 rejections so far and I am waiting to hear back either way from another school. I also have two more interviews coming up this week. I'm SPED certified and my background is ES/LS. One of the interviews this week is for a ASD position. Though I'm qualified to teach in an ASD setting, it isn't really my background.

Things in my area are getting a little concerning. I know that there is still time and many school districts typically hire closer to the start of the school year, but this year is obviously different. Many districts have announced a hiring freeze as well as pay freeze. I'm casting a wide net into several different counties no more than an hour from me.

Would you take any position next year assuming you're qualified, but don't have the experience?

sterlingsun is online now   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 06-09-2020, 07:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If I needed to work, and it was a jb I think I could do, I would take the job. If I thought it was more than I could handle, I probably wouldn't take it because I would not want to fail. I personally could not teach middle school, so that would be a job I wouldn't take.

I hope one of your interviews come through. This would be a tough time to be looking as a newer teacher.
kahluablast is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 06-09-2020, 10:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3