The VENT

Being Forced To Quit

>

ForcedtoQuit

ForcedtoQuit

Being Forced To Quit
Old 06-25-2020, 07:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been working two jobs for over 10 years, even before I started working for the district. It was never a problem until THIS year. Even though our contracts state our work day is from 7:30-3:00, we have to stay for staff meetings three times a month. These staff meetings often last from 1:00pm well past 4:30 pm! I have to leave to start my evening shift at my job no later than 4:45. Once I even stayed at the meeting until 4:45 so that I wouldn't get in trouble, but this made me late for my second job.

We all received an email stating that if we don't stay at the meetings, we would be written up. My issue isn't the meeting itself, but the fact we are meeting as late as 5 pm and onward! How is this even necessary???!! Why are we meeting for 4+ hours on a school day? If it were a day solely for professional development, that makes sense.

I emailed admin about it and got no response. Now I am forced to put in my resignation. I can't afford to be written up because I can't stay that late into the evening. What if I were a single mom and had no one to watch my kids?? I WON'T be quitting my second job to stay late for meetings at my first job either.

Monkeyflower

Have you looked at your contract?
Old 06-25-2020, 12:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

There should be information in the contract about how long meetings can be, and how many per month. Is everyone getting paid for staying late? What does Human Resources say? Are you a member of your union?

This sounds very stressful. I hope you can do some exploring before you put in your forced resignation.
Monkeyflower is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 06-25-2020, 01:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3