First year - Need DESPERATE help with my class! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Kindergarten

First year - Need DESPERATE help with my class!

>

Birdie86

First year - Need DESPERATE help with my class!
Old 08-28-2015, 04:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Sorry this is long, but I'm really in need of advice and tips.

I'm in my first year with Kinder and I am in need of some strategies/help. Today marked the end of our first week of school, so I know it's still early, but my group just does not listen well AT ALL! I feel bad because a handful of them are awesome and are great listeners, but the rest are not and I have 22 of them. We've been going over routines and procedures and rules all week, and maybe I'm just teaching them wrong or not well enough...but I can't get them to stop talking over me, or interrupting me, or getting anything down that we've practiced and modeled. We've gone over raising hands if you have something to say, not getting out of your seats to ask me a question, etc. but they can't seem to get it. They're always all over the place, or asking me what they're supposed to do (even though I just modeled it for them), I've showed them and expressed how I want them to sit in their chairs and on the carpet but they can't seem to do that right either. It takes me many extra minutes to even go over an activity or read a book or get them in line correctly because they constantly talk or mess with each other! I'll tell them I'm waiting for their attention, and they'll know I'm not happy, but they just continue on like they dont even notice anything (and literally, they don't!). All they want to do is play but I'm not going to even introduce my social centers or work centers until week 3. Not until they can show me they know how to follow directions and know my expectations. I don't know what else to do. Everything is a disaster. Following directions for just about everything from in class to lining up to walking in the halls