Help

Center Activities

Listening center

>

amurvin88

Listening center
Old 07-26-2011, 06:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new third grade teacher and I plan to have a listening center in the classroom. I have NO books on tape or anything at this point. I am trying to decide if I should invest in a cassette player or go for the mp3 route. I know that students are used to using mp3/ipods all the time and if given the opportunity are responsible enough to use it. But how convienient would it be? Is it easier to just buy cds/tapes? I also have found some good math cds (multiplication facts) that I wish to use...there are workbooks that accompany the cd. However you can also purchase the cd on itunes.....basically i dont want to waste money.

If this makes any sense which should I go with: cassette player, cd player, mp3/ipod?

amurvin88 is offline   Reply With Quote

kindygirl

Old 07-26-2011, 06:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

i would go with a cd player.....i have noticed that when i order books and tapes from scholastic, they are moving toward cd's instead of cassettes. i guess they are sort of outdated now.
kindygirl is offline   Reply With Quote

Grade2PSU

Old 07-27-2011, 06:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Wow...this is such a great idea...with the MP3 players! Unfortunatley, I teach in a low income school district and my students do not have access to those...so I go with a CD player...I hardly see any cassettes anymore! Are many popular children's books on itunes? If so, and you feel confident in letting your students use this technology, I think with the way the world is moving, it's an AWESOME idea!
Grade2PSU is offline   Reply With Quote

seslava

Skip cassettes
Old 07-27-2011, 06:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I would go with CD players and/or MP3 players. I have two individual CD players and I have two personal mp3 players. I would like to get a couple more mp3 players or write a grant for them (not sure).