Third Grade

Chapter Books for Reading age 6-7?

>

Ideabaker

Chapter Books for Reading age 6-7?
Old 07-31-2018, 02:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi Everyone,

I'm a middle school teacher on sabbatical this year, but it has ended mid-year due to changes at the elementary school across the street from my home. The principal approached me about their overcrowded classrooms.

I've just taken on a newly created class (as a long-term substitute until my sabbatical ends in December... our school year starts in February and ends in December) with only 16 students. It's an emergency class that was created (in a small former storage room). It is comprised of students taken from three classes: 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade.

For reading I'm grouping them by reading age level, and because many of the fifth graders are below level, they are fine reading with the 4th graders. We are currently doing a novel study in addition to mini lessons targeting specific skills and strategies to build comprehension.

Two of the 3rd grade students in the class are reading at age group 6-7. I have leveled "books" (non-authentic literature) to use with them, but creating after-reading questions that are rich is a challenge as the books have little substance.

Does anyone have recommendation for chapter books for 9 year olds reading at age level 6-7? Is that even possible?

I already have an advanced group which is doing another novel study of a higher level novel. The two students who are reading at age 6-7 feel left out because they are reading such tiny books.