Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Does anyone compost?

>

shazam

Does anyone compost?
Old 01-24-2013, 09:12 AM

Just curious. Am planning to try to grow some veggies this year since last year I was actually successful with herbs. I keep seeing lots of info about composting and am thinking of trying it. But I'm not sure where to start. Any tools or tricks of the trade I need to know? Would love to know any basics. Thanks!

shazam is offline   Reply With Quote

cvt

compost
Old 01-24-2013, 09:31 AM

I have been composting for about 6 years. It is amazing how little trash I have every week. Probably about one small bag.
All because I compost all my food that is plant-based.

This is what I do:
•I have a large pan with lid in my kitchen. I use one of those cheap white pasta cookers.
•Special composting bin in my side yard.

All scraps (no meat/cheese/dairy/lard, fats, etc.) go into the large pan. When it is full (it takes me about 2 days to fill it), I dump it into the composting bin. I also throw shredded paper, napkins, dry leaves into the bin outside.

The trick with the compost bin is to keep it at the correct moisture level. It can't be too dry or too wet. This was something I had to experiment with. Best thing is to layer, so start with a layer of dry leaves/shredded paper, then add scraps of vegetables, layer with dry leaves, and so on. Occasionally stir the mess with a special tool that mixes it all.
It usually takes 5-6 months for my bin to produce perfect soil for my garden. I now have two bins.

There are different ways of composting. I have never tried worm composting. A friend has a small worm bin in her kitchen, and although it seems to be very clean and does not smell, I don't think I'd be happy with that in the house.

Last edited by cvt; 01-24-2013 at 08:11 PM.. Reason: wanted to add some information
cvt is offline   Reply With Quote

time4class

Old 01-24-2013, 02:04 PM