Help

The VENT

End of year tears

>

MsRoadWarrior

End of year tears
Old 05-23-2014, 03:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This was a Facebook post I saw this week from an elementary school teacher...

"Already crying today. A little girl, who has very little, spent her allowance on this ring and mother owl necklace because she said she loves me like a mom. Tomorrow is going to be ridiculous. One of my students said she was bringing a bucket for my tears ‪#‎whyIdoit‬".

Of course she received several "likes" and praises. It makes me wonder if I am not as dedicated as those teachers who cry because they will miss "their kids". As a high school teacher I have connections with all of my students, but the tears I cry (if any) at the end of the year are from joy that the year is over... then I feel guilty.

MsRoadWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote

bmcgee81

I have middle schoolers
Old 05-23-2014, 04:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

and mine are tears of joy today too!!!

Love them all but I am glad to see this group go, of course the worst ones are all here today on this last half day before summer!!!
bmcgee81 is offline   Reply With Quote

Keltikmom

Tears
Old 05-23-2014, 05:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I think it is an elementary thing. You see how much progress has been made. I used to cry every year, now, it depends on the class. Kinders always made me cry. Three years ago I cried from the sheer relief of watching them leave and knowing I made it through without having a complete nervous breakdown.

This year I don't predict tears - a lot of hugs and laughter.
Keltikmom is offline   Reply With Quote

7more

Tears
Old 05-23-2014, 05:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I think your emotions depend on the group of kids you have. This year I WILL miss my kids. Last year on the other hand I couldn't wait for them to be gone!
7more is offline   Reply With Quote

Seussical

Retiring today...
Old 05-23-2014, 06:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

TEARS of ecstasy!!!