Help

Social Studies

American history in ten minutes a day?

>

BlueSnow

American history in ten minutes a day?
Old 05-04-2013, 06:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am currently a sixth grade teacher, and in my district that means I teach world history. However, my students have very little understanding of American history. I was thinking next year I'd like to try to spend about ten minutes a day teaching American history.

I'm not sure how to go about this however, if it's even possible. Obviously, it wouldn't be in much depth, and there would be little time for activities related to it. But I was thinking I could maybe read short sections from an interesting history book (like A History of US) instead of a read aloud. Or supplement with historical fiction? Or maybe show video clips from a good series. Anyone have any ideas? Or know any good documentaries that would work for this?

Thanks in advance!

BlueSnow is offline   Reply With Quote

MiddlingAZ

Old 05-06-2013, 01:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Another idea is a 2 column side-by-side timeline listing the major events in your unit and what was happening here at approximately the same time. So if you are doing ancient civilizations you could have the students include ancient civilizations in the Americas. Or if you are doing the Middle Ages, they would include events from the North American Indian cultures. For example:
http://www.aaanativearts.com/ancient...n-timeline.htm
I know I have seen these kinds of timelines but couldn't find something online quickly. But if you could locate a ready-made one (I feel it must be out there!) that would minimize your prep time. If you felt it was needed, you could ask individual students to prepare a short presentation about event(s) on the U.S. side of the timeline. Or you could show a video clip. You might also try Youtube.