Help

Writing & Language Arts

Historical Fiction

>

sborrus

Historical Fiction
Old 11-12-2011, 11:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been teaching for 10 years, however, this is my first year teaching writing. We have just started historical fiction. Any ideas on how to teach this????? I teach 5th graders.

sborrus is offline   Reply With Quote

kmob

without literature?
Old 11-13-2011, 01:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

So you're not teaching in conjunction with a novel? I've never taught it aside from literature, but I would think that you could read them some excerpts from Historical Fiction pieces and discuss what makes them fit the genre. Then have each child pick a period in history and do a little research on that topic. From there make an outline of what will happen in the story. Might be a good idea to pick whatever time period they are studying in Social Studies, and maybe to write a short one as a class first. Good luck.
kmob is offline   Reply With Quote

Century46

mentor texts
Old 11-14-2011, 08:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I would start with mentor texts. There are many wonderful picture books, written at the Intermediate level, that you can read with kids. I would find some from various time periods and those written in different formats. After reading several, and "deconstructing" them, they can use these for their own stories.

I use mentor text with virtually all my writing instruction. We're getting ready to start one on biographies, one of my favorites.
Century46 is offline   Reply With Quote

curlygirl2

Dandelions
Old 11-26-2011, 08:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

by Eve Bunting is a great mentor text we use...great storyline, too.

I agree with all of the previous posts...
curlygirl2 is offline   Reply With Quote

MsOC

Historical Fiction with Dear America books
Old 01-16-2012, 07:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5