Help

New Teachers

Classroom Management

>

tsteve11

Classroom Management
Old 09-21-2012, 02:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

As a soon to be graduate I was wondering if anyone has positive classroom strategies that they use for classroom management that they have found to be most effective? I am an Intern and have seen the behavior charts for negative consequences and golden tickets for positive behaviors but am looking for something a little different. Classroom management is the one area that I feel I could improve upon and am looking for some suggestions.

tsteve11 is offline   Reply With Quote

missenglish

Old 09-21-2012, 03:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think it really depends on the age group. However, whatever system you do chose needs to be consistent. I teach HS and we have school wide procedures to follow: 1st offense: warning, 2nd: reflection sheet and parent phone call, 3rd: student meeting with counselor, 4th: office referral. Our system works for me because I follow it consistently and the consequences are the same for every kid, and they know what to expect.

I do give out tickets randomly for good behavior. Tickets go into a bucket and every Friday I pull two winners for every class. Even at there age, they love this.
missenglish is offline   Reply With Quote

jady_marie

Old 09-21-2012, 04:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Read the book The Cornerstone . This book has everything!
jady_marie is offline   Reply With Quote

Coopsgrammy

Management
Old 09-21-2012, 06:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I am loving Whole Brain Teaching!!
Coopsgrammy is offline   Reply With Quote

tsteve11

Thanks
Old 09-22-2012, 12:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

Thank you for the tips. I will certainly check out the book for tips on classroom management.

claudiann

what I do
Old 09-22-2012, 01:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #6