Help

The VENT

What's my fate?

>

kbrown

What's my fate?
Old 09-07-2012, 12:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I don't know if this is where I should post this, but I am so frustrated right now. I just got an email from somebody in our DO that said I need to meet with the HR Director because they aren't sure that I am highly qualified to be teaching in my current position. I have been teaching Middle School English for the past five years, some school same position. I came from California where I was highly qualified and taught for 4 years. I couldn't get any more information and I am freaking out. My principal is in Las Vegas at a conference so I can't talk to her. My meeting with the HR director isn't until Monday. What a way to spend the weekend, worrying about this!!! I don't even know what happens if I'm not highly qualified, do they just fire me, do they have to find me a new position? The words "Highly Qualified" have not even been uttered to me in the last five years. How on Earth was I hired if I'm not qualified. I don't even know what to do until I have my meeting. I'm so sick to my stomach right now.

kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

IA11

Old 09-07-2012, 12:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If I were you, I would begin by researching what that phrase means in your state and district. Then I would go back and find proof that you ARE highly qualified. If you have copies of your certifications -- pull those out. Get it all ready to show to HR -- it could be they just don't have a copy of something that they need for your file! Pull out your evals -- check to see if any of them ever used that phrase. If you are in a union state -- contact your union too!

Good luck -- I think you'll be fine!
IA11 is offline   Reply With Quote

ElemenTchr

Certs & Test Scores
Old 09-07-2012, 01:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3