Help

Classroom Management

No Respect

>

kmcma

No Respect
Old 09-20-2018, 11:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a student teacher and today (most days really) I couldn't get my class to stop talking over me. I have to be very stern with them and then they seem to push back even more. I have to constantly repeat myself because these students talk over me while I'm giving instructions. I have tried getting silent and not moving forward until they quiet down, but they blatantly ignore me. I have threatened them with quizzes and that works to a certain degree but, again, not really. They are so disrespectful and I made the mistake today of telling the front office that I am a student teacher over the intercom. Well, apparently it's imperative that these students only know me as a co-teacher because they have a reputation for treating student teachers horribly. Well, now they know and of course started telling my CT that they wish she would teach them again. This is awful. How can I rewind and get this class to listen? Desperate for ideas.

kmcma is offline   Reply With Quote

Mikhail

Behavioiur plan
Old 09-20-2018, 12:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

At first, I want to ask what's your behaviour plan like and do you have your CT's back. And then I remembered your earlier posts.

Believe me that there are worse schools where teachers have got to deal. Have you ever seen the movie "Freedom Writers" with Hillary Swank based on Erin Gruwell's experience? If you haven't, check it out but it's not going to solve your current problem. It's just to let you know that there are schools where the odds against a new teacher is stacked against you.