Help

Fifth Grade

First Attempt at a Novel Unit

>

WSU10

First Attempt at a Novel Unit
Old 12-08-2010, 06:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I want to attempt a novel unit after winter break. This is my first year so I want to get something that I'd enjoy working on for a couple of weeks. I also want something that I'll look forward to doing in the future. Another stipulation is I want to have something that will appeal to both the boys and girls in the room. A fellow teacher is working on "Dear Mr. Henshaw" right now and has offered her materials to me if I wanted to use that as a first unit. I'd like to make my life more stressful than it is as a first year and come up with my own unit if I could.

So far I have the following listed as possibilities with "Holes" being the first one I thought of.

"Holes"
"The Westing Game"
"My Side of the Mountain" (My all-time favorite book as a kid, and it's in the textbook.)
"Shilob"
"Julie of the Wolves"
"Island of the Blue Dolphins"
"Stargirl"

Does anyone have a suggestions for a relatively easy introductory novel unit? Something that would be easy to put together and complete in a few short weeks. I would like to possibly have two going at once, different levels, but not sure if that is something I want to undertake right away.

I have a book order due in a few days for students and would like to get my class set in the order.

WSU10 is offline   Reply With Quote

missbrooks

All good choices
Old 12-09-2010, 01:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

and here are a few more.....

No Talking by Andrew Clement
Frindle by Andrew Clement
missbrooks is offline   Reply With Quote

mimi6

Books
Old 12-09-2010, 02:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Because of Winn Dixie is relatively short and the kids love it (if they didn't read it in the previous grade.
mimi6 is offline   Reply With Quote

WSU10

Old 12-09-2010, 04:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

One of the 4th grade teachers read it to them.