The Job Search

Job Outlook in Illinois and Nebraska

>

teaching102

teaching102

Job Outlook in Illinois and Nebraska
Old 07-30-2012, 03:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Our family has a move in our future and two of the possibilities are in Illinois (just outside of East St. Louis) and Nebraska (near Omaha) and I wanted to see if there are any current teachers or job seekers who might be willing to share the job outlook for those areas. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated! I am a first grade teacher and I would prefer to stick with a primary grade...I also have a Reading cert in my current state (M.Ed., Reading), though I'm not sure of the reciprocity with other states for that.
Thanks!

signedout

signedout

Omaha
Old 07-30-2012, 05:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm signing out because I don't want to give myself away or have too much information associated with my username.

My cousins are from Omaha and I visit them a lot. I was thinking about applying for jobs in that area when I graduated because I wanted to be by them, but my dad ended up taking a new job and I would be really far from him, so I changed my mind.

The Omaha area has a ton of schools! Omaha itself has 3 school districts, 2 huge ones (in my opinion) and 1 smaller one. Plus, there are a ton of private schools in Omaha. Additionally, there are so many towns surrounding Omaha with districts (6 that I can name off the top of my head) plus the private schools in that area. I know the district my cousin's attended always has several openings every year. However, although there are many schools and many districts, I'm not sure about the number of applicants...which could obviously limit your chances.