What I keep telling new teachers/subs that can't get jobs.... - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The Job Search

What I keep telling new teachers/subs that can't get jobs....

>

midwestread

What I keep telling new teachers/subs that can't get jobs....
Old 05-22-2015, 04:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am certainly no expert, I have been teaching for 10 years, and have subbed myself years ago.
I've seen subs complain that it's hard to get into a district, new teachers etc.
Where I live there is a glut of teachers and still a sluggish economy. Until it becomes a "buyers market" it is incredibly competitive. meaning?
A General Ed elementary certification will get you an aide position, not kidding. If I were just graduating collage, I would start looking into getting a long term substitute teaching assignment then getting additional certifications, ELL, Reading/Literacy etc. We just hired a 1st grade teacher and we had 400 applicants, we interviewed 5, then we hired the one that was working on her reading endorsement/reading teacher. She had worked in an intercity school to get experience, been an aide which qualified her to get into a grad program. Sorry for the bad news But I thought I would share.

midwestread is offline   Reply With Quote

ArtsyFartsyII

Old 05-22-2015, 05:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That's why I'm going for a 4-9 license instead of k-3. And will need to get an endorsement... I'm thinking 4-6 generalist or technology. I enjoy taking classes... Don't enjoy the prospect of paying for them!
ArtsyFartsyII is offline   Reply With Quote

tgbwc

It depends
Old 05-22-2015, 06:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Not all districts are like that. It depends on where you are. I know graduates who could get a job, but they aren't willing to move away from home.
tgbwc is offline   Reply With Quote

MrsWok

Old 05-23-2015, 04:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4