Third Grade

Assistant concerns

>

Loveandmercy

Assistant concerns
Old 09-08-2018, 11:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this.

I'm at a new school in a full-time teaching job. Back-to-School night went very well and parents seem to appreciate me. Principal and Vice Principal seem happy as do the students. I've already bonded with the kids and I get hugged regularly. I really like this new school.

I'm an experienced teacher and have had mostly very positive experiences with assistants in my past job. I've always felt that a dedicated assistant can make a tremendous difference in the overall quality of a classroom and significantly contributes to the sense of well-being in the students.

My new assistant in this new school has been at this school for many years. She is helpful but I feel like there is the potential for her to become a real steamroller. So I am requesting opinions here. I'm having difficulty coming up with the right words to tell her how I'm feeling right now.

Although I appreciate her help showing me how to run some things that are unfamiliar to me (because I'm in a new job) this doesn't mean I'm a beginner in the profession or that she should intervene and take control if I am simply approaching something in a slower, more deliberate manner. She is very high strung.

I think she is coming from a good place but it's starting to be a concern. Example: She talks over me when I talk to her one-on-one (before school when we are alone in the classroom) and also has a few times in class in front of students. (We are the same age, by the way. ) She seems to be ushering in a completely unnecessary sense of urgency in the classroom.

My low-key, friendly classroom style establishes a well-run, calm environment. These qualities are imperative for a successful learning space. But I'm feeling like I don't have control over it now for the two hours she is there each day.