Forget-me-not Room

Using Person Reading Street for Writing =/

>

Jenn81

Using Person Reading Street for Writing =/
Old 09-11-2010, 05:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi I am a new teacher,

And I am told that I need to use our districts new Reading Street program for writing (yuck). I am so confused as what to do. I teach G4 and we read Becuase of Winn Dixie and now the students have 5 days to complete a writing assignment which i think is somwthat difficult. They have to write a realistic fiction story about a character who has a turning point.

I feel that it is difficult for students to start doing this before they write personal narratives, but I have to follow rules.

Does anyone have some suggestions , I feel like my students barely grasp the concept of a plot. I know the kids will do it, but the time restraints are making me feel like a crappy teacher. I feel like I don't know to begin...

Help please

Auntie M

I feel you pain
Old 09-25-2010, 01:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2