Help

Bluebonnet Room

Reading instruction formats

>

peaches5

Reading instruction formats
Old 03-18-2011, 08:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a recent graduate and am currently substitute teaching until I get my own classroom. My desire is to teach 3rd, 4th, or 5th grade. Fortunately, I have lots of spare time to start developing how I want to structure my classroom.
Right now my question is this: What different methods are out there (and what have you found that you like best) for reading instruction? For example: Daily 5, Four Block, etc.
I know that there are a lot of unknowns at this point (like the school/district may implement a certain format), but I want to at least start somewhere.
Thanks guys!

yumateach99

Old 03-26-2011, 11:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am a huge fan of Daily 5 and CAFE. It can be used with any district-mandated curriculum and serves as a system for managing students' behaviors and keeping them engaged in meaningful literacy tasks throughout the reading block. It has worked beautifully in my second grade classroom this year.

peaches5

:)
Old 03-27-2011, 10:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thank you! I am strongly considering trying to figure out how I would use Daily 5 and CAFE with Treasures. Everything I have read about it seems positive and effective. I don't personally know a teacher who has used it, but I'm wanting to give it a try!

ThunderTeach

Whole class, direct instruction for me.
Old 04-01-2011, 11:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I still favor whole class, direct instruction. It's always great when every student in the class is reading the same material so that we can discuss it as a big group. With balanced literacy, and guided reading, etc.... the trend is to use groups, etc, by readability level. But, these sorts of programs, while addressing certain issues, also have their problems.