Help

Magnolia Room

Discipline without Stress

>

1stgradenew

Discipline without Stress
Old 08-26-2007, 09:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to RC and I plan to also use the 4 levels of behavior from the book Discipline Without Stress...which I think many of you RC teachers use as well. I'm not sure if this was in the book or someone else's idea (maybe Bookmuchers, I can't remember) to make a big chart showing the different levels in different situations. I also plan to read a book or two that shows all 4 levels. But, I'm not sure exactly how to introduce the levels. Should I introduce the levels, then read the book, then have them help me make chart (I think I will have groups draw the pictures)? How have you introduced the levels to your class?

miss.anderson

Abcd
Old 08-26-2007, 04:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hmmm...I am planning on using the levels of behavior this year but I hadn't thought of using a book to introduce the levels...Do you have a book in mind that you think would work?

It didn't occur to me until reading your post that I haven't thought a whole lot about how I will introduce the levels...I was thinking about just telling them the names (using BookMuncher's simplified titles - Acting out, Bothering Others, Cooperating, Doing the Right Thing) and then talking about what that would mean during each time of the day...I was going to start with RW - What would it mean to be acting out of control during RW? I'm hoping they'll get the hang of the levels by making it specific to times of day...but do you think that isn't enough of an explanation/introduction?

km

books for levels of behavior
Old 08-27-2007, 05:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have a list of books for each level of behavior, but it is at school and I don't go back until tomorrow. I will try to remember to find it. The website for Discipline Without Stress has a lot of good information and resources also.

km

found my book list
Old 08-27-2007, 05:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4