Substitute Teachers

questioned about age

>

newsub10

newsub10

questioned about age
Old 04-27-2010, 03:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new to subbing and find myself at a loss of words when student ask my age. I am fairly young compared to their regular teachers (26, but I look about 20 and am 5 foot tall) So, students like to question my age as if that undermines my credibility as a substitute. What are some ways I can respond to this question? (Besides the usual: It's none of your concern)???? Thanks!

grav_def

Old 04-27-2010, 03:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

"I'm a grown-up. That's all you need to know."
grav_def is offline   Reply With Quote
newsub10

newsub10

Old 04-27-2010, 03:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

In case it matters: I have been subbing at the middle school level.

ClassWatcher

Old 04-27-2010, 04:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

If they state an age, like "What are you, like 23." even though I'm 25 I'll say, "Really, do I look that young? I'll take that as a compliment. Thank you."

They have always let it drop with that. I like to think they are confused, pondering, "Just how old is this lady?"
ClassWatcher is offline   Reply With Quote

2strike

Age question
Old 04-27-2010, 05:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I guess I'm on the other side of the coin on this one. I'm 60, and I don't mind saying so. I tell classes about how I helped my 6 kids through school, in the same schools that I now sub in. I like to joke with an algebra class, "Well ... its been 43 years since I took algebra ... " The students will laugh at that, but they usually decide that I might be able to help them after all.