Help

The Job Search

Beginning to feel hopeless

>

mthompson0016

Beginning to feel hopeless
Old 07-12-2019, 02:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Little about me - I graduated with a BA in English lit and then worked in retail for a year (fulltime, and still I was under the poverty line lol) before going back to school for a MAT program to teach secondary ELA. It was like a lightbulb went off. I'd wanted to be a teacher when I was little but had been persuaded to think about other routes in the intervening years. Being in a classroom is the only thing that makes any sense to me, it is the only "job" I have ever had that makes me excited to wake up early in the morning and get out of the house. I love it. Imagine my excitement when I graduated and could start applying for positions!

I've applied for at least 30 jobs in my area. Everything within I think 90-ish miles. I can't leave my area for a few reasons (money, lease, family, fiance, fiance's great job here...) but I haven't had a single call back after the handful of interviews I've had. I had one interview at the school I loved (subbed at, did my student teaching at) which hired 7 teachers in my content in May... one of them being a girl I graduated with. I didn't have another interview until the end of June - that one went to another girl I knew from school, who graduated the semester before me. Two more interviews with no responses... and I don't know what to do. All of the interviews seem to go great. The last interview felt so perfect, the principals even told me how much of a pleasure it was to speak with me, and it felt genuine and like such a great fit. And nothing.

I've been trying so hard to stay positive the last couple of months. And mostly I've done pretty well at that. But this week has been awful. I'm making sure I have all my paperwork handled to substitute in my local districts because I'm beginning to give up hope of actually teaching next year.