How to get students to copy the problems?? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

How to get students to copy the problems??

>

frustratedj

frustratedj

How to get students to copy the problems??
Old 08-25-2019, 05:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a middle school math teacher and year after year I have encountered the same issue during my Math warm ups. They WILL NOT copy their problems, no matter how small or how many times I blaze across the board COPY EVERYTHING. I want them to copy so they will have as a resource to review at home with parents and for tests. Anyone have a method that has worked for them?

MissESL

Math
Old 08-25-2019, 06:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Know your problems ahead of time and copy them out for the week. Students must show work before it will be graded.

I teach middle school and sometimes copying is just a lot for them to handle...I think warm ups can be planned ahead of time and copied for them.
MissESL is offline   Reply With Quote

Izzy23

Old 08-25-2019, 06:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Quote:
I teach middle school and sometimes copying is just a lot for them to handle
Really? I teach 4th and they copy the problems without complaint. Well, maybe not without complaint but they still do it.

If they're not in special ed, where a copy of the problem is an accommodation they need, then I don't know why you should have to copy math problems for everyone. Seems like a pretty basic skill and one they better acquire before they get to high school or college.

I sometimes will tell kids, Okay, today you're turning this problem in. Or today you're presenting your solution to the class with a partner. They never know when that might happen, so they copy every time. I also walk around the room and check, and if someone hasn't started, I stand silently beside them until they do.
Izzy23 is offline   Reply With Quote

TchrFvr

Grade of zero...
Old 08-25-2019, 07:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4