Help

Second Grade

Behavior Chart vs. Class Dojo

>

learn

Behavior Chart vs. Class Dojo
Old 07-23-2018, 09:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Alright, here is my dilemma, what should I use for second grade?

Class Dojo vs. Behavior Chart and how do I implement this with checking their planners in the morning?

If you use classdojo, how do you normally do this and how many points do you give them for each subject of the day etc?

learn is offline   Reply With Quote

SusanTeach

behavior chart
Old 07-23-2018, 11:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

This is my first year to teach 2nd grade, but I tried Dojo with 3rd graders and it didn't work well for me. It was too high-maintenance and I just don't have time for that. The clip chart is way easier, IMO. I intend on using it with my 2nd graders, too. The other 2nd grade teachers use it as well.

We don't use planners, so I'm not sure how you implement it with them. Mine just have a school-to-home folder that I check for notes in the mornings, and I hope to gradually teach them to bring them to me rather than me checking their folder.

I also don't have a behavior chart that goes home with them. I just tell parents that if they don't hear from me (phone or email), then their child was fine. Again, I don't want to take precious time away coloring in a behavior chart at the end of each day.
SusanTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

Coopsgrammy

Dojo
Old 07-23-2018, 02:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I much prefer Dojo to a clip chart. The clip chart was too public - some kids were so stressed about it, and what others thought, that they couldn't work.

I didn't do subjects, I just gave out points for those who were on task at random times. I also gave points for complete and signed planners each day. If kids had a serious infraction, points were taken away. Online updates were easy, and parents received them in real time - Positive or negative. It made documentation very easy.