Help

Retired Teachers

Last 4 months in - how did you do??

>

mrsflowermom

Last 4 months in - how did you do??
Old 01-21-2019, 09:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

How did you feel when you had only 4 months to go? I'm a 4th grade teacher in a small charter elementary school and I'm the only teacher retiring this year so I have no one to talk to. Please let me know your thoughts and feelings that you remember at this point, also. I'd really appreciate it.

mrsflowermom is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD

I felt
Old 01-21-2019, 10:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

excited about my upcoming retirement but a little sad to say good bye to working with children and my great team. I was also in the process of finding a home in another city 70 miles away. So that was thrown into the mix as well and I was hopeful that I was making the right decision.

It all turned out fine. I love my new hometown. I love being retired. Just as expected I miss my team and collaborating with them to create fun lessons. I also miss working with children.

I don't miss faculty meetings, deadlines, paper work, report cards, students with behavior issues, parents who are not supportive of the teacher or classroom work, 30 minute lunches, after school duty, professional development that was a waste of time, administrators who have forgotten what it is like in the classroom..........

I love staying up late. No more 9 PM bedtime for me.

I love sleeping as long as I want to. No alarm clock required.

I love having breakfast and lunch any time I want to. No demanding schedule to follow.

I love eating lunch out during the week.

I can go to the moves during the week in the middle of the day. I receive a discount and it is not crowded. YEAH!

I love having a slower pace and not going 100 miles per hour like I had to while teaching.

I have time for a new hobby which is different forms of art. It is so much fun!

I can buy groceries when the store is not crowded. YEAH!