Please help clarify

>

mamaosashark

mamaosashark

Please help clarify
Old 01-27-2019, 05:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone!
I have been teaching for 6 years, and this is my first year in kindergarten.
I have to admit that this has been a learning curve for me.
There are a few things that I learned in college and during the first part of my career as a teacher that shaped my approach towards textbooks and worksheets.

I have 2 questions that I hope you can clarify for me:
1. What is the purpose of having a kindergarten student copy down a story in a station, if they are not able to read it independently...then they take that home as the product?
My fellow teachers have those as stations, and basically they copy down this story about 3 times in 3 different stations...and i don't see the benefit of it. I know that perhaps it is something that I am missing myself, but could someone please explain the reasoning behind it?

2. I do not understand what all goes in doing the letter of the week.
So mainly I do a lesson about the letter that we are learning that week, we identify the uppercase, lowercase, sky write it, then they all tell me words that begin with that letter so I create an anchor chart with the words and the pictures next to the word. So the follow up is that they choose 4 of those words and write and illustrate in their journal.

That's what I do because the LPs on Eduphoria are not specific at all. I do not know what else to do or what other skills we should do with the letter of the week, considering this is kindergarten and not Pre=K.

Thanks for your help!

Zia

Old 01-27-2019, 06:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote:
1. What is the purpose of having a kindergarten student copy down a story in a station, if they are not able to read it independently...then they take that home as the product?