If I can't teach elem because of classroom management struggles would HS be better? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

New Teachers

If I can't teach elem because of classroom management struggles would HS be better?

>

sugar cat

If I can't teach elem because of classroom management struggles would HS be better?
Old 03-03-2011, 10:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have terrible classroom management problems with elementary students. I basically ranted on it in another post. So this one is sweet and to the point: If I have A LOT of trouble managing a class of elementary students (because I am just not born to teach those grades) will I necessarily have trouble teaching high school students?

Or should I just resign myself to finding a way to teach adults perhaps at the college level? Assuming I find a job in such a competitive job market, that is.

(I have a masters and could in theory teach in college with it. My certification is a K-12 certification. I'm a first year teacher and can't take elementary education anymore! It's taking everything I have to finish this year up- even though I only started 2 months ago. Oh and when I say I have a lot of trouble, I mean it. I'd be surprised if they kept me on past the summer. I could go into detail but its better to just read my other post called Classroom management: high school vs elem).

I really want to teach... I don't want to quit teaching but what I am doing now isn't working...I'm honestly horrible at it (my APs and principle have given me every clue that thats the case except outright say it) and it's making me sick.

sugar cat is offline   Reply With Quote

teach_love

find your groove
Old 03-04-2011, 02:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Problems with classroom management go across the board. I hate to say it, but what it takes to keep 3rd graders in control is very much the same in high school, just modified a little.